Who we are

The organisational structure of the RAMOGE Agreement consists of a Commission, a Technical Committee, Working Groups and a Permanent Secretariat.

The RAMOGE Commission is made up of the delegations of representatives of the three member countries’ governments. The Commission is the decision-making body, establishes the programme of activities for the biennium and allocates the necessary budget for its implementation.

The Technical Committee consists of experts and scientists and supervises the working groups activities. It highlights specific problems encountered in the RAMOGE area and submits its analyses and proposals to the Commission for approval.


The working groups are responsible for implementing the programme approved by the Commission, providing a forum for exchange and discussion between the scientists, administrations and operational authorities of the three countries. They carry out scientific studies, conduct anti-pollution exercises, produce awareness-raising and training tools, etc.

The Permanent Secretariat coordinates all the activities and ensures that the work programme is properly implemented. Its functioning is ensured by the Government of the Principality of Monaco.


Three fields of activity
Three working groups

The programme of activities is divided into three main topics, each of which is covered by a working group:

Preservation of marine ecosystems and biodiversity | Optimisation of the fight against pollution | Awareness-raising

1 Integrated Coastal Zone Management (GIZC Group)

This group deals with marine ecosystem issues and carries out scientific studies to improve knowledge on the conservation of habitats and to assess human impacts. This work is essential to propose effective protection measures and solutions.

2 Prevention and Fight against Pollution (PLCP Group)

This group works to optimise the fight against pollution and harmonise the repression of illegal discharges. After the sinking of the oil tanker Haven in 1991, the three countries of the Agreement decided to provide a coordinated response to any pollution incident at sea to ensure maximum efficiency in the fight against it.

To this aim, the Agreement adopted a pollution response plan in 1993 called the RAMOGEPOL Plan. Based on this plan, the working group carries out a simulation exercise every year to train the teams of the three countries in a fictitious pollution area.

The working group members also work to strengthen international cooperation in the Mediterranean basin.

3 Awareness-Raising Group

RAMOGE designs awareness-raising programmes and educational tools targeting the various key players in marine conservation (local authorities, port or mooring area managers, shipping companies, boaters, fishers, divers, the general public, etc.).

Institutional partners of the Agreement

Logo Ministère de la transition écologique
Logo Gouvernement Princier
Logo Ministero dell’Ambiente e della Sicurezza Energetica
Logo Office Français de la biodiversité
Logo Préfecture maritime mediterranée
Logo Ifremer
Logo Centre scientifique de Monaco
Logo Guardia Costeria

We also collaborate with

Logo Pelagos
Logo Accobams
Logo Alliance Posidonia
Logo Institut océanographique de Monaco
Logo FPA2